Skip to content

Ready or Not, Here I Come

January 1, 2010

I love the New Year, just like I love Mondays and mornings and how there is always a new beginning whenever we want it. I love starting over and reaffirming the strive, yearning for something closer to authentic, uncluttering my head and heart of the unneccessary that is holding me back. Therefore, my friends, Happy New Year!

I have been peaking into the blogging world for years now, and one of my resolutions for 2010 is to post regularly (once per week is the commitment!) and build the readership here at MotherSongs, along with the release of the MotherSongs CD, and later this year a new book of poetry. I have been longing to add writing to my schedule again, so with brute force and will I am making it so. RIGHT NOW.

So you don’t have anything to say, Howes? It will come. I am trusting in that and moving forward anyway.

What are you longing for? What are you willing to change to get at it this year? What dreams are you chasing and how do you plan to tackle them? Leave a comment and let me know so we can support each other!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. aaron permalink
    January 1, 2010 10:54 pm

    Hey Heidi, I definitely support you in the blogosphere and beyond. I’d I can’t remember a time when you had nothing to say. So rest assured, it will come.

    • heidihowes permalink*
      January 1, 2010 10:58 pm

      Hey, thanks, Aaron! Wanna join me? How about we have a blogging contest for 2010?

  2. January 1, 2010 11:28 pm

    Blogging can be quite theraputic and fun. I’ve been blogging for a couple of years now and last year I took the blog365 challenge. 365 posts in one year. Oy! I am glad it’s over, but I’m also glad I can look back at all I’d done in the past year. http://www.rickihasablog.blogspot.com

    I can’t wait to see all of your posts! Rock on 🙂

    • heidihowes permalink*
      January 2, 2010 9:54 pm

      Wow, that’s so cool, Ricki! Is that going on this year as well? I might try that . . . thanks for your support, I hope I can write half as much as you have this past year!
      Heidi

  3. Heidi permalink
    January 2, 2010 1:40 am

    My resolution is to read your blog weekly! And to find more time and space in our program for you.

    • heidihowes permalink*
      January 2, 2010 9:55 pm

      Rock on, Heidi! I am so looking forward to that coming to fruition. Let me know if there is any way I can help to move that dream forward! Thanks for your support!
      Love,
      heidi

  4. January 2, 2010 3:28 am

    hey Heidi, you could post about the awesome show we had on New Years, or the upcoming one at Thirsty Ear…I have a blog too, for my clothing company I find it hard to keep updating especially when not a lot is going on but it is always good when I am updating consistently..so good luck! 🙂

  5. January 2, 2010 2:31 pm

    Build a blog and they will come. Continuing to work on my writing is a major intention in the new year, along with fixing up my house, and plugging away at the radio game. I’ll be watching this space!

    • heidihowes permalink*
      January 2, 2010 9:56 pm

      Thanks, Justin, here’s to blogging our booties off!
      Heidi

  6. January 2, 2010 7:48 pm

    I blog mostly to keep my family and friends apprised of our house renovations and the B&B prep, but it has taken on a small life of its own. I find it to be a lot of fun, our family and friends like the updates and pictures and it’s going to end up being a neat record of the changes we’re doing here.

    I can’t wait to follow your blog!!

    Blessings.

  7. January 5, 2010 2:28 pm

    Making music/writing songs is up there on my 2010 ‘things to do’ list. After a year of supporting so many outstanding Cbus musicians, it’s high time I create some art of my own. I’m off to a good start collaborating with Brian Marshall, L.E.S. Crew’s guitarist. I’ve also found a bass player who is down for the mission, Mike Sambroak (thank you Josh Sheik)……so my band is coming together…it’s happening….Los Dog will rock the stage THIS year with fresh, new music from a fresh, new band. Looking forward to working with you again Hei! …onward….upward!

    • heidihowes permalink*
      January 6, 2010 2:51 am

      Yeah! Sounds great, Los! You will rock it! Let me know if there is anything i can help with.
      H

  8. January 5, 2010 6:27 pm

    Hi Heidi,

    Happy New Year! I’m on Ariel Hyatt’s Music Success judging panel, and I heard that you’re going to be participating in the blogging contest. Following those steps are an easy way to find material for your blog, I’ll tell you!

    I wish you well in music and in life!

    Carla

  9. January 5, 2010 9:06 pm

    hey sweetie. chasing a few dreams. mainly i am back in school finishing up my masters in women studies and sociology. yesterday was the first day back in one year, ONE YEAR and it was rough–i cried, couldn’t find a place to pump, was overwhelmed by my stats class, and missed Parker something fierce. Then I came home to find out he had a rough day too with dad and the babysitter. My heart broke a little.

    So my short term goal is to do my homework this week and actually go back to school next Monday.

    Long term goal is to ace this class, start and finish my research, write my thesis, defend, and graduate by June!

    • heidihowes permalink*
      January 6, 2010 2:50 am

      Hang in there, Jen! It is sooooo hard balancing your dreams with motherhood, so go easy on yourself. You can do it! It may take longer, or be more intense but don’t give up!
      Love,H

  10. January 6, 2010 3:10 pm

    Hey Heidi,
    Just wanted to stop by and say good luck with the Music Success contest!

    -Heather

Leave a Reply

