Skip to content

We are spring’s daughters

May 15, 2010

You are now three and my struggle is rushing ,

remembering to hold on to your tiny words,

pulsing between my daydreams of pressing thoughts

and the image of your silly faces

in the rearview mirror.  You make me laugh,

sing along sweetly to the radio, tell me a story

about how Winnie the Pooh dies and then goes to jail.

I am supposed to drive, steer, pay attention to the road

stay between the yellow lines,

and make enough money to fill this damn tank–

not to mention all those dishes in the sink at home.

I try to fit it all into this drive to school, so afraid to lose or fail,

and when we arrive, when you flit from the car

and float, fairy-like, to the curb

you are not looking forward,

only into this moment, the blossomed petals on the concrete.

Your eyes sparkle up towards mine and quick as a wink you

wave your hand into the pile of  ivory petals, fling them into the air

so they drift in the breeze and swirl back to the ground.

My heart rips open like a seed

who knows spring is here, right now,

and we are her daughters.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 1:56 am

    Lovely.. What a great poem.

  2. JuJu permalink
    May 17, 2010 6:18 pm

    I so love this poem! I can actually see and feel my PieBaby and get into the heart of her mother when I read this.

Leave a Reply

